Thoroughbred Racing and the Canadian Triple Crown

The name triple crown gives you some indication as to what the triple crown is. The Canadian Triple Crown is three races of the thoroughbred horses that takes place in Canada. This race is broken down into three series.

Queen’s Plate

This racing series takes place on 1 1/4 mile track that is comprised of tapeta. This is an all weather type of turf that the surface of the track is made of. This series of the Canadian Triple Crown takes place at Woodbine Racetrack in Ontario, Canada.

Prince of Wales Stake

The second segment of the Triple Crown for Canada takes place at the Fort Erie Racetrack that is in Fort Erie, Ontario, and is a 1 3/16 mile race on a dirt track.

Breeders Stake

The final face of this three series race is held at the E.P. Taylor Turf Course that is also located at Woodbine Racetrack. It is run on turf and consists of a 1/2 mile run.

The rules of entry include the horses being three-year-olds that were born in Canada, but they can also be geldings.

This is a racing event that has a long history in Canada. 2017 was the 158th race of the Queens Plate Stakes, the 82nd year for the Prince of Wales Stake, and the 126th year for the Breeders Stake.

This most exciting event for horse racing enthusiasts began in 1959. Over the years there have been some very impressive winners and it is a title that those in the Canadian racing industry that owners, trainers, and jockeys certainly crave for.

In the 2017 racing event, Holy Helena was the winner of the Queens Plate, Cool Cantomone took the Prince of Wales and Channel Maker was the winner of the Breeders Stake.

To date, there has only been one jockey to bring in the winning horses in all three races and that was Luis Contreras riding different horses.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *